francophoneeducation-logo2014-h

Francophone Education

francozone

FrancoZone
Welcome to the FrancoZone
PDF Print E-mail

Here’s a question for you: How can francophone parents, regardless of where they live in Canada, make sure their children learn to speak French?

I think I can guess your answer: “Speak French to them!” It’s kind of obvious, isn’t it.

Yet for some francophone parents living outside Quebec, it’s easier said than done. Those parents get in the habit of speaking English to their kids, especially if their spouse is an anglophone. The end result: kids with francophone roots who grow into adults who don’t speak much French.

Now let’s bring things closer to home. If your spouse is a francophone and you speak another mother tongue, is your child learning French as well as English or perhaps another family language? In other words, is she or he on the path to full bilingualism?

If your answer is anything but an unqualified “Of course!”, perhaps it’s time to create a FrancoZone.

Framework for action

A FrancoZone is a space, time or regular activity where everything (or almost everything) happens in French. It provides a framework for families to develop habits that let francophone parents pass on their language and culture to their children. The concept can also be adapted to other contexts such as the school and the community.

Who benefits in a FrancoZone? First of all, the children. But their parents benefit, too — including parents who speak French and those who don’t.

If you’re the non-francophone half of a mixed couple and you want your child to become fluently bilingual, the advantage of the FrancoZone is that it respects how comfortable you feel hearing or speaking French.

Welcome!

In these FrancoZone pages, created in English for you and in French for your francophone spouse, you’ll find information, tips and testimonials. There’s also a forum that’s part of a national initiative spearheaded by the Alliance des femmes de la francophonie canadienne (AFFC), a women’s organization whose goal is to enhance the wellbeing of francophone women and girls living in a minority setting.

This is all intended to help you and your spouse create your own FrancoZones and pass on the lifelong gift of bilingualism to your child. Enjoy your visit and feel free to share your experiences with other parents in the same situation as you!

 

 
Share
How to create FrancoZones
PDF Print E-mail

FrancoZone space

To create a FrancoZone space in your home, choose a spot in a common area (though not too close to a source of distraction such as a TV) where you can set up a small table or desk. It's easy to find something for under $25 on Kijiji, at garage sales, in the classified ads and elsewhere. You may be able to pick up a chair, too, or just take one from elsewhere in your home.

Be sure to choose a spot that's handy for you, perhaps close to the kitchen. (One day while house-hunting, I discovered a child’s play/work area tucked away in the basement underneath a flight of stairs. It was a tiny, enclosed space with room for only a tiny person — not at all suitable for a FrancoZone.)

If it helps, stake out the limits of your FrancoZone with masking tape on the floor. Some parents actually consider this to be a key element of their Zone.

Outfit your FrancoZone with items such as crayons, pencils, an eraser, a ruler, etc. Consider borrowing or buying a dictionary suited to your child's level, as well as any other resources that may be fun and useful.

Since the focus of a FrancoZone is French language and francophone culture, why not decorate your space with French-related posters and other items? If your child is into drawing, you won’t need to buy many decorations since she or he will produce an endless stream of masterpieces…

If your child is a bit older, you could put up the francophone flag of your province or territory, or even the whole collection of Canada’s francophone flags. How about printing some family photos (a visit with distant francophone relatives, etc.) and putting them on the wall?

FrancoZone times and activities

A FrancoZone can also exist in time. There are moments every week, if not every day, where parents find themselves in their children’s company for the same reason, such as driving them to dance lessons, karate, soccer, music, hockey…

You can take advantage of these occasions to create a FrancoZone time by listening to the radio or music in French or, if you’re able, conversing in French.

There are doubtless many such moments in your family life that you and your spouse could convert into FrancoZones.

You can also conduct regular activities in French. For instance, watch weekly TV shows in French, prepare and eat certain meals in French (e.g., every Friday supper), clean the house in French (okay, that might not be the best example because the idea is to have fun together), and so on.

The most important thing to remember is that FrancoZones are intended to help your child develop lifelong habits in French. No matter what times or activities you choose, make sure you do them consistently.

 

 
Share
My FrancoZone
PDF Print E-mail

My FrancoZone (“Ma FrancoZone” in French) is the name of an innovative project being piloted by the Alliance des femmes de la francophonie canadienne (AFFC) in order to inform and motivate francophone mothers to speak French in their homes, and to help them create the conditions to make it happen. The AFFC has developed workshops, prepared bilingual resources and set up a forum to encourage participants and their spouses to apply the FrancoZone concept in their daily family life.

This initiative focuses on increasing the opportunities for children of francophone mothers to hear and speak French. The various forms that FrancoZones can take reflect each family’s reality, including parents’ different comfort levels in French. To succeed, both parents must be ready and willing to discuss, share responsibility, agree to compromise, and make a commitment.

My FrancoZone will help francophone mothers by…

  • making them more aware of their vital role in passing on French to their children
  • providing them with information and opportunities to share their stories
  • making the use of French in day-to-day family life a normal occurrence.

 

The objectives of the project are to…

  • expand the place that French occupies in the lives of francophone mothers and their families
  • increase the transmission of French to children in mixed francophone/non-francophone households
  • reinforce the importance of mothers passing on French as a mother tongue to their children.

 

A key element of the FrancoZone approach, which is easily adapted to a variety of contexts, is that it helps families create a non-threatening environment for parents who don’t yet master French but still wish to practise it. Another group of parents who can benefit from this project are francophones who, at some point in their family tree, lost French as a mother tongue but want to bring it back for their children.

My FrancoZone will help francophone women, families and communities in a minority setting to make French an important part of their daily life, in order that their children learn the language and acquire francophone culture. This project will also provide data on the influence and impact of a community that actively encourages families to expand their horizons.

 

 
Share
Yes, it works!
PDF Print E-mail

Does the FrancoZone approach really work? Absolutely! But don’t just take my word for it. Here’s the story of an anglophone-francophone couple who raised two boys in Western Canada to become fluently bilingual:

“Beginning to learn another language is comparable to starting an exercise program. Baby steps.

“My wife is francophone and I am anglophone. Upon the arrival of our first son, we were confronted with decisions on what language would be spoken in the home? Which school he would eventually attend. Whether culture was important. I was a little overwhelmed by it all as I had never had to reflect on such profound aspects of both my life and those of my family.”

(That’s a comment I hear often. Life can become, how can I put it… richly complicated for mixed couples, especially when they start a family. But back to the story.)

“The decision to endorse and encourage French in and out of the home was easy. My only fear was how I would fit in as an anglophone. As our two sons grew and matured in their mother tongue I learnt French along side of them.

“I found at times trying to speak French throughout the entire household way too difficult at first. So we set up a ‘French zone’. One room in our house with a TV, video, radio, toys, tables, chairs, small sofa, etc. Most things were labelled in French and all videos were in French and the radio was tuned into our local French radio station.”

(They could use an entire room because they lived in a big old house in the country. Getting that kind of real estate in a city would easily have cost twice as much. Fortunately, the FrancoZone approach can be adapted to any situation!)

“When I entered the room I was frequently reminded I was ‘in the zone’. Having this zone alleviated a lot of pressure from me and encouraged everyone to learn French. As the boys grew older the zone also grew and by the time they graduated I was functionally bilingual. It was wonderful.

“Like runners get into their ‘runner’s high’ or their ‘zone’ I would encourage couples of interlinguistic marriages to also get into their ‘French zone’. We did and we never regretted it.”

Not only did this couple successfully raise two fluently bilingual sons in Western Canada, but the father also learned French. If you’d like to find yourself in a similar situation one day, now is the time to bring FrancoZones into your family life!

 

 
Share
Rules
PDF Print E-mail

All parents know that children need rules. Rules provide the structure that helps us grow, learn, build our character and form our identity. But that doesn’t mean they should be set in stone! On the contrary: a certain amount of flexibility, where appropriate, allows both children and parents to adapt to our constantly changing environment.

One of the most important components of the FrancoZone concept is that it includes rules. Here’s the first one: “Whether the Zone is a space, time or activity, everyone who enters or participates in it must always speak French as much as possible.” Let's call this the first Golden Rule.

On the other hand, the second rule states that “A person (especially a non-French-speaking parent) may temporarily exit the FrancoZone if he or she feels too uncomfortable or needs to pass on some information in his or her mother tongue.” This may happen quite frequently at first, but over time it’s very possible that this person will withdraw less and less often from the Zone.

Golden Rule #2 is particularly important for parents who aren’t at ease in French. If you’re not comfortable in a given situation, you’ll likely avoid it or try to lessen its impact on you. It’s perfectly normal that parents who don’t speak French well enough — according to their own criteria, expectations, aspirations or wishes — wouldn’t want to put or find themselves in a situation where they don’t understand what’s being said or have to express themselves being able to do so easily.

The second Golden Rule offers these parents not so much an escape hatch as an invitation to participate in the FrancoZone knowing that their feelings are respected and their language skills don’t constitute a barrier.

Only two rules?

If you really like making rules, you could decide that the French-speaking parent must always speak slowly in the FrancoZone, or use the simplest words, and so on.

As for your child, she or he must always communicate in French as much as possible with every person who enters the FrancoZone… and stay in the Zone for as long as agreed (or as long as you decide). It’s kind of a deluxe version of Golden Rule #1.

Making rules so that a FrancoZone works well doesn’t mean imposing a whole bunch of constraints. It’s up to every family to establish the parameters for each of their FrancoZones. That being said, there’s little chance of success unless both Golden Rules are in place and followed.

 

 
Share

francophoneeducation-logo2014-h

Francophone Education

francozone

FrancoZone
Bienvenue à la FrancoZone
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

« Il faut parler français aux enfants si on veut qu’ils deviennent des francophones. »

Combien de personnes vivant en milieu minoritaire canadien le disent? Mais combien de parents francophones réussissent à le faire, surtout si leur conjoint(e) parle une autre langue?

Il faut avouer que transmettre la langue française et la culture francophone quand on habite une région anglophone n’est pas toujours facile, malgré toute la bonne volonté qu’on peut avoir. Il y a une gamme de raisons à cela, allant de la nécessité de parler anglais dans la communauté jusqu’aux pressions familiales qui favorisent l’emploi de l’anglais ou d’une autre langue aux dépens du français.

Cadre d’action

L’Alliance des femmes de la francophonie canadienne (AFFC) reconnaît l’importance d’être proactif dans ce domaine. Cet organisme national, fondé pour assurer le bienêtre des femmes et des filles francophones vivant en milieu minoritaire, veut aider les mères francophones à créer des conditions propices à la transmission du français à leurs enfants.

En association avec la Commission nationale des parents francophones, l’AFFC a lancé un projet visant la création d’un réseau de soutien pour les mères qui se sentent isolées ou démunies lorsque leur foyer s’anglicise et doivent parler anglais à leurs enfants.

Au cœur de ce projet innovateur est le concept de la FrancoZone que j’ai présenté en 2012 à la Conférence ministérielle sur la francophonie canadienne.

La FrancoZone, c’est un espace, un temps, une activité de la vie quotidienne où tout (ou presque tout) se passe en français. Cela fournit donc un cadre qui permet aux familles de développer des habitudes qui, elles, permettent aux parents francophones de transmettre leur langue et culture aux enfants. On peut aussi adapter le concept à divers contextes dont ceux de l’école et de la communauté.

Bienvenue!

Dans ces pages FrancoZone, vous trouverez des informations, des conseils, des témoignages et un forum d’échanges créé en collaboration avec l’AFFC. Tout a été conçu en français pour vous et en anglais pour votre conjoint(e) afin de vous aider à établir vos propres FrancoZones familiales et ainsi à transmettre à vos enfants ce cadeau de vie qui est votre héritage linguistique et culturel. Bonne lecture et n’hésitez pas à partager votre vécu avec la communauté de lectrices et de lecteurs!

 

 
Share
Comment créer des FrancoZones
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Espace FrancoZone

Pour créer un espace FrancoZone chez vous, choisissez un coin dans un lieu commun (mais pas trop près d’une source de distraction telle la télé) où vous pouvez installer une petite table ou pupitre. On peut en trouver pour moins de 25$ sur Kijiji, dans des ventes de garage, via le journal et ailleurs. Vous pourrez aussi acheter une chaise, ou en utiliser une que vous avez déjà.

Optez pour un espace qui est pratique pour vous, par exemple près de la cuisine. (Un jour en visitant une maison à vendre, j'ai découvert un espace de jeux/travail d'un enfant caché dans le sous-sol, sous l’escalier. C’était une toute petite cachette avec juste assez de place pour une toute petite personne, donc pas de possibilité d’en faire une FrancoZone.)

Vous pouvez délimiter votre FrancoZone en mettant du papier collant sur le plancher. En fait, certains parents trouvent que c’est une composante indispensable de leur Zone.

Dotez votre FrancoZone d’articles tels des crayons feutres, des crayons ordinaires, une gomme à effacer, une règle, etc. Considérer l’emprunt ou l'achat d’un dictionnaire adapté au niveau de votre enfant, ainsi que de toute autre ressource qui pourrait être utile et amusante.

Comme la raison d’être d’une FrancoZone est d’exposer votre enfant à la langue française et la culture francophone, pourquoi ne pas la décorer avec des affiches et des bibelots ayant un lien avec le français? Si votre enfant aime dessiner ou bricoler, vous n'aurez pas besoin d'en acheter beaucoup car elle ou il produira un flot ininterrompu de chefs-d'œuvre!

Si votre enfant est un peu plus âgé, vous pourrez afficher le drapeau francophone de votre province ou territoire, ou même toute la collection des drapeaux francophones du Canada. Ou bien, imprimez des photos de famille (par exemple, d'une visite de votre parenté francophone éloignée) et les afficher.

Temps et activités

Une FrancoZone peut aussi exister dans le temps. Il y a des moments chaque semaine, sinon chaque jour, où les parents se trouvent en compagnie de leurs enfants pour la même raison, par exemple pour les amener aux leçons et aux pratiques de danse, karaté, soccer, musique, hockey…

Vous pouvez profiter de ces occasions pour créer une FrancoZone dans le temps en parlant ou en écoutant la radio ou de la musique en français.

Il y a sans doute plusieurs moments de ce genre dans votre vie familiale que votre conjoint(e) et vous pourrez transformer en FrancoZones.

Vous pouvez aussi faire des activités régulières en français, par exemple regarder des émissions de télé en français, préparer et manger certains repas en français (le souper du vendredi), nettoyer la maison en français (bon, ce n’est pas nécessairement le meilleur exemple parce que l'idée est de s'amuser ensemble), et ainsi de suite.

La chose la plus importante à retenir est que les FrancoZones doivent aider votre enfant à développer des habitudes de vie en français. Peu importe les moments ou les activités que vous choisissez, assurez-vous de les faire de façon constante.

 

 
Share
Ma FrancoZone
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Ma FrancoZone, c’est le nom d’un projet innovateur de l’Alliance des femmes de la francophonie canadienne (AFFC) dont le but principal est d’informer et d’inciter les mères francophones à parler français au foyer, puis de les aider à créer les conditions pour y arriver. L’AFFC offre des ateliers, des ressources bilingues et un forum d’échanges afin d’encourager les participantes et leurs conjoints à introduire des FrancoZones dans leur vie familiale.

Cette initiative vise à augmenter les occasions où les enfants de mères francophones peuvent entendre et parler le français. Les diverses formes que peuvent prendre des FrancoZones reflètent la réalité de chaque famille, y compris les différents niveaux de confort en français des deux parents. Bien entendu, pour réussir, ceux-ci doivent être prêts à discuter, à partager les responsabilités, à faire des compromis et à s’engager.

Ma FrancoZone soutient les mères francophones…

  • en les conscientisant à leur rôle essentiel quant à la transmission du français à leur enfant,
  • en fournissant des informations et des mécanismes pour partager leur vécu avec d’autres femmes, et
  • en normalisant l’emploi du français dans leur vie familiale.

 

Les objectifs du projet sont…

  • d’agrandir la place du français chez les mères francophones et leurs familles,
  • d’accroître le taux de transmission du français dans des foyers exogames, et
  • de valoriser les femmes dans leur rôle crucial de transmission du français comme langue maternelle.

 

L’approche FrancoZone, qu’on peut adapter à une grande variété de situations, fournit un contexte non menaçant pour les parents anglophones et allophones qui ne maîtrisent pas le français mais qui voudraient le pratiquer. Il y a aussi un autre groupe de parents qui peut bénéficier de ce projet : des francophones de souche qui ont perdu le français comme langue maternelle mais qui veulent le réintégrer dans leur famille.

Ma FrancoZone permettra donc aux femmes, aux familles et aux communautés francophones en milieu minoritaire canadien d’assurer une place importante au français dans la vie quotidienne, ce qui est essentiel pour la transmission de la langue et de la culture aux enfants. Le projet fournira aussi des données sur l’influence et l’impact d’une communauté qui se mobilise afin d’encourager les familles dans leurs démarches.

 

 
Share
Oui, ça fonctionne!
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Est-ce que l’approche FrancoZone fonctionne vraiment? Absolument! Vous voulez des preuves? Voici l’histoire d’un couple francophone-anglophone de l’Ouest canadien dont les deux garçons sont devenus parfaitement bilingues :

« Commencer d’apprendre une autre langue, c’est comme commencer un programme d'exercices. Un pas à la fois.

« Ma femme est francophone et je suis anglophone. Quand notre premier fils était né, nous étions confrontés à des décisions sur quelle langue qu’on parlerait à la maison? À quelle école il irait éventuellement. Si la culture était importante. Je me sentais un peu overwhelmed, un peu accablé par tout ça parce que je n'avais jamais eu à réfléchir sur ces aspects profonds de ma vie et ceux de ma famille. »

(C’est un commentaire que j’entends souvent, notamment venant de parents anglophones. La vie peut devenir, comment dirais-je… merveilleusement compliquée pour les couples mixtes, surtout quand ils commencent une famille. Mais retournons à l’histoire.)

« La décision de valoriser et encourager le français dans la maison et dehors a été facile. Ma seule crainte a été comment je pourrais trouver ma place comme un anglophone. Pendant que nos deux fils ont grandi et maturé dans leur langue maternelle, j'ai appris le français à côté d'eux.

« J'ai trouvé parfois que essayer de parler français partout dans la maison a été beaucoup trop difficile au début. Alors, nous avons mis en place un ‘French zone’. Une chambre dans notre maison avec une télé, vidéo, radio, jouets, tables, chaises, petit sofa, etc. La plupart des choses ont été étiquetés en français et toutes les vidéos étaient en français et la radio jouait notre station locale française. »

(Ils pouvaient utiliser une pièce entière parce qu’ils habitaient une grande maison en milieu rural. On payerait facilement le double pour une maison semblable en ville. Heureusement, l’approche FrancoZone peut être adaptée à n’importe quelle situation!)

« Quand je suis entré dans la salle, j'ai été souvent rappelé que j'étais ‘dans la zone’. Avoir cette zone a enlevé beaucoup de pression sur moi et a encouragé tout le monde d’apprendre le français. Pendant que les garçons ont grandi, la zone a aussi augmenté et par le temps qu'ils ont gradué j'étais fonctionnellement bilingue. C'était extraordinaire.

« Comme les coureurs entrent dans leur ‘runner’s high’ ou leur ‘zone’ je voudrais encourager les couples de mariages interlinguistiques aussi d’entrer dans leur ‘French zone’. C’est ce que nous avons fait et nous n'avons jamais regretté ça. ».

Non seulement ce couple a-t-il réussi à élever deux fils parfaitement bilingues dans l’Ouest canadien, mais le père aussi a appris le français. Si vous et votre conjoint ou conjointe souhaitez atteindre des résultats semblables, il est temps d’introduire des FrancoZones dans votre vie familiale!

 

 
Share
Règles
PDF Imprimer Envoyer

Tous les parents savent que les enfants ont besoin de règles. Les règles sont l’armature qui nous aide à grandir, à apprendre, à se bâtir un caractère et une identité. Elles ne doivent toutefois pas être coulées dans le béton! Au contraire, une certaine souplesse, là où c’est approprié, permet aux enfants et aux parents de s’adapter à notre environnement en constante évolution.

Une des composantes les plus importantes du concept de la FrancoZone est qu’il comprend des règles. En voici la première : « Qu’il s’agisse d’un espace, d’un temps ou d’une activité, toute personne qui entre ou participe dans la FrancoZone doit toujours parler français autant que possible. » Disons que c’est la première règle d’or.

En contrepartie, la deuxième règle stipule qu’« une personne (surtout le parent non conversant en français) peut se retirer temporairement de la FrancoZone si elle se sent trop inconfortable ou si elle doit communiquer dans sa propre langue maternelle. » Cela pourra arriver assez fréquemment au début, mais avec le temps il est fort possible que cette personne sorte de moins en moins souvent de la Zone.

Cette deuxième règle d’or est particulièrement importante pour les parents qui ne sont pas très à l’aise en français. Si on n’est pas confortable dans une situation donnée, on aura tendance soit à l’éviter soit à atténuer son impact. Il est tout à fait normal qu’un parent qui ne parle pas assez bien le français — selon ses critères, ses attentes, ses aspirations, ses souhaits — ne veuille pas se mettre ou se trouver dans une situation où il ne comprend pas ce que les autres disent ou qu’il soit obligé de s’exprimer sans pouvoir le faire facilement.

On lui offre ainsi non pas une porte de sortie mais plutôt une invitation à participer à la FrancoZone tout en sachant qu’on respecte ses sensibilités et que ses habiletés linguistiques ne représentent pas une barrière.

Deux règles, est-ce tout?

Si vous aimez beaucoup les règles, vous pourrez exiger que le parent conversant en français parle lentement dans la FrancoZone, ou qu’il utilise toujours les mots les plus simples, et ainsi de suite.

Quant à votre enfant, il ou elle aura toujours l’obligation de communiquer autant que possible en français avec chaque personne qui entre dans la FrancoZone… et de rester dans la Zone aussi longtemps que convenu (ou que vous décidez). C’est comme la première règle d’or allongée.

Créer des règles pour qu’une FrancoZone fonctionne bien ne veut pas dire imposer une foule de contraintes. C’est à chaque famille d’établir les paramètres de chacune de leurs FrancoZones. On ne pourra toutefois pas assurer la réussite des démarches si les deux règles d’or ne sont pas en place et respectées.

 

 
Share